Fourth project

Now that I had a little experience under my belt,  and I had 6 skeins of this lovely cerise coloured acrylic/wool blend yarn that I got from Value Village (it originally came from Zeller’s (no longer exists) , it had cost $1.69 back whenever it was bought), I decided that I wanted to tackle double knitting.

So, I watched the Martha Stewart how-to video on double knitting on the MS loom and loved it!

Casting on double knitting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNB743kC5Ng&list=PLi81LcTWU11YTeOKo31o8d7WvTDjaw4uz

Knitting the double knit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCKpznAltFY&list=PLi81LcTWU11YTeOKo31o8d7WvTDjaw4uz

Casting off double knitting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFjnLkGRcU8&list=PLi81LcTWU11YTeOKo31o8d7WvTDjaw4uz

I found this easy enough and loved the final look – and it is warm.

scarf

 

Before I finished the ends, I did notice that there were some errors. An entire row of stitches seems to be extra large, I think my tension was looser, and  the edges are wobbly. I noticed that while double knitting, one side tends to be tighter naturally and one side is looser. Not sure why that is and from some of the comments under double  knitting videos, that seems to be a common theme. Perhaps washing the piece would allow all the stitches to fall into place. But I really love it.

The final piece was 48 inches long.

About loomyforknitting

Knitting on the loom.
This entry was posted in Loom knitting, Martha Stewart Loom, Projects, Tutorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

