WIP: cowl inspiration

I have these two balls of yarn. They didn’t have a label, so I don’t know exactly what they are, but they feel like an acrylic/wool blend in what looks like a dusty mauve or frosted grape. Very pretty colour.

I was looking for inspiration for my next project and came across this picture:

cowl

 

from this site, it’s not English but the pattern looks simple enough, so I gave it a go.

I’m using the Martha Stewart loom, 2 half circles, 4-12 peg extensions and 2-6 peg extension. To get the big gauge like in the picture, I placed pegs in every third hole and I’m knitting one, purling two. I am also randomly using small and large pegs on the purl stitches for added variety.  If I compare what I have so far and the picture above, I would say that the purl stitches are probably also slip stitches.

This is what I have so far. I will use up half of the second ball, and I am thinking of making a flower like in the inspiration pic, probably a long thin knitted string sewn into a circle.

 

IMG055

 

About loomyforknitting

Knitting on the loom.
This entry was posted in Martha Stewart Loom, WIP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

