wip – baby booties

I’ve searched for baby booties (google and youtube) and I found booties but for small children – not really for babies.  Or they are very complicated with cuffs, and decreasing stitches and this or that.

So, I tried doing one on a round loom, and it was too big. I decided that I would knit a square and then sew the heel and top of the foot.

Here is what I have so far;

IMG062
I’m quite pleased with my bad self!

I worked on the Martha Stewart straight loom, 12 small pegs in every hole.  I knitted a square, 3 1/4 inches by 3 1/4 inches. I sewed the heel, gathered the toe and then sewed the top of the foot. The opening for the foot to go in is just shy of 2 inches. I was winging the whole pattern because I couldn’t find one for an actual baby. Even this looks to be a bit bigger that what would fit a new born (how big are newborns feet anyway?). I might try a 3×3 square and see what it gives me. Interestingly, the toe is in a garter stitch (total accident).  When I first measured the length, I had 3 inches, so I started the bind off using the gathering technique. I flattened the piece to measure it and I realized that for the width (3 1/4 “), the length was too short. So I put the square back on the loom, but had put it back on with the wrong side facing me, so when I resumed knitting, the “knit” stitches were on the other side, creating what looks like a ballerina slipper “toe”.  I might weave some pink yarn or ribbon on this pair and make it a girls slipper.

I am quite pleased that I attempted to do this without a pattern, and I realise that knitting a square might seem like a brainless thing to do,  but for me – knitting represents freedom, letting go and progress.

 

About loomyforknitting

Knitting on the loom.
This entry was posted in Martha Stewart Loom, WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to wip – baby booties

  1. E.C. says:

    Congratulations. I think you did an amazing job. Making anything without a pattern is always a learning experience.
    Your baby booty reminds me of the way I made them when I was a teen. I was knitting with rods then and never really enjoyed it. So I quit the yarn-arts until a few years later when I discovered crochet. Wow what a joyful difference. I use knitting looms now too, my sister introduced me to them last year. Don’t you just love Martha Stewart looms? I have 2 sets, the looms are quirky but quite fun.
    I look forward to seeing more of your creations. Keep up the great work.

    • Thank you, it is interesting to try out something new without an actual pattern. It’s a little stressful actually. But I made it (after three tries).
      I find that many pegs don’t fit the holes, they are too big (and have to be hammered in) or too loose (they keep wanting to come out and do). But, it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

