WIP: purple nubby woven scarf

I seem to have a purple theme going on these last few projects. Just a coincidence.

You know how on youtube you can start looking at kittens playing with yarn and then hours later you are looking at how to gut fish with a single human hair? Well…

Ok, so no fish gutting, but – how about weaving with drinking straws? Yes. Weaving a pretty scarf using regular old drinking straws.  I landed on a video that shows how to weave using a peg loom and then one using sticks, and then one video showed how to use straws.  I have drinking straws!

My scarf will be 5 feet long, but I measured out 6 feet of thread for error and fringe.

I took some embroidery threads in three shades of purple, measured them out to be 72 inches long and knotted one end about an inch from the ends. I placed the knotted threads into the straw and sucked them in to the other side. I used tape to secure the knotted threads at one of of the straw, and I did this with 6 straws. Then I took 2 straws and knotted loosely at the end to keep then from tangling too much and to catch the weave if it gets down that far.

IMG075

Gather the straws like a fan and place a slip knot on the first of the straws, then weave the yarn in an S shape back and forth through the straws, catch the tail at the start of the weave to weave it in.

Push down the woven yarn periodically.

IMG076
T
he yarn really is purple.

Weave – weave –  weave…

IMG077
And then start sliding the weave off the straws onto the threads. 

Here’s the video I used for inspiration.

And here is the finished scarf.

IMG080

It was a fast weave project. It was interesting using straws, but I like the finished product.

About loomyforknitting

Knitting on the loom.
This entry was posted in Projects, Weaving, WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

